August in Review

31 Aug

I feel like I’ve been neglecting my blog! August has come and gone. What have I been up to?

There were tons of nail painting parties:

 

Tons of good food:


Tons of good friends:


And.. one dead bird, which I laid to rest:


August is the month where I get back into the swing of things–when I remember that I am first and foremost a singer, when I remember that you never laugh harder than when you’re with your friends, and when I am reminded that no matter how long you’ve been away from a place you love, coming back still feels like the Right Thing to do.

The hardest adjustment is the work load, of course. I’ve spent all summer getting paid to play–so returning to my stressful practice schedule and commitments is not necessarily the easiest change to make. It’s a strange exchange–I love lazing about, but when I am lazing about, I miss the hustle and bustle of school. But here I am, ready to work.

Now that I’m a junior in college (where did the time go?), I’ve got to start focusing on Big Girl things. First? A junior recital. 30 minutes of All Georgeanne Singing. Next? Thinking about applying to grad schools, summer programs, and competitions.

When did I grow up?

Leave a Reply

