On My Plate: FRIED PICKLES Edition

17 Jun

I’m still cooking up a storm… here’s what I’ve been up to the past few days:

Following my stuffed chicken excursions last week, I decided to try Jalapeno Popper Stuffed Chicken Breasts from Skinnytaste. I substituted serrano peppers for jalapenos (they were out of fresh ones at the supermarket [TRAVESTY]).

I also tried my hand at skillet-sauteeing some pork chops– I made pork chops with mushrooms and shallots. If you haven’t noticed, I’m minorly obsessed with sauteed mushrooms. I’m not interested in seeking help for my addiction.

And because I can’t be ALL FANCY SCHMANCY GOURMET ALL THE TIME, for Game 1 of the NBA Finals (IF YOU’RE NOT ROOTING FOR THE THUNDER GET OFF OF MY BLOG) I made oven fried pickles and baked chicken nuggets! My mom had never had fried pickles before, and though oven fried doesn’t exactly mirror the taste of DELICIOUS PICKLES FRIED IN GREASE YUM YUM YUM, a world without something resembling fried pickles is not a world I wanted my mother to live in. She liked them a lot! SUCCESS.

And we won.. Game 1. Let’s not talk about Game 2.

This post is Kevin Durant Approved. (okay not really but a girl can dream)

4 Responses to “On My Plate: FRIED PICKLES Edition”

  1. paige @luxperdiem June 18, 2012 at 11:43 AM #

    Fried pickles are my ultimate weakness!

  2. Sydney Kramer (@CrepesofWrath) June 18, 2012 at 1:37 PM #

    I really need to make fried pickles because they are so damn good and I don’t think my husband has ever had them before, either.

    • Georgeanne June 18, 2012 at 8:02 PM #

      These were pretty good, although I think that I would love to make them FOR REAL REAL (ie fried) for my mom pretty soon. The oven-fried batter on these was pretty heavy–more like a breading than a tempura batter like I’m used to with fried pickles.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

